George MacDonald Quote

‘The universe would be to me no more than a pasteboard scene, all surface and no deepness, on the stage, if I did not hope in God. I will not say believe, for that is a big word, and it means so much more than my low beginnings of confidence. But a little faith may wake a great big hope, and I look for great things from him whose perfection breathed me out that I might be a perfect thing one day. The more we trust, the more reasonable we find it to trust.’

From a letter to Lady Mount-Temple, 1888

Published in: on January 4, 2007 at 12:21 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://somethingold.wordpress.com/2007/01/04/george-macdonald-quote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love that man. Kudos for posting this.

    Hi, I’m new here, how are you?


Leave a Reply

